Diaries of a Retail Clerk: Don’t You Think It’s So Sad?

Dear Diary,

Today started off a little rough.  Before I’d even finished my first cup of coffee, I had to deal with a less than desirable customer on the phone.

“Hello this is ___ fabric store.  How may I help you?”

“I have a few questions about the classes you offer.  Are YOU the person I should speak with?” inquired the woman on the other end.

“”Sure.  What can I help you with?”

“Well, I want to know if you can take the ‘Beaded Christmas Gifts’ class if you don’t celebrate Christmas?”

“Excuse me? ” I was caught off guard.

“Well, don’t you think it’s so sad that our world has come to this?  What if I don’t celebrate Christmas?  Don’t you think it’s so sad?”  She really wanted an answer from me.

I paused because I was in shock.  Really?  Was this lady for real?

“Ummm… Yes you can take the class,” I respond in hesitation.  It was as if I was suddenly questioning myself and my knowledge as a “facilitator” of all things crafty.

“Well then WHY is it called a Christmas class?” she posed.  “Why not holiday then?  Can’t we say it’s a holiday class?”

“Well, yes I suppose we could have called it that.  To be honest, one of the projects is a beaded ornament that would specifically go on a Christmas tree.”

“What does that have to do with it?  Couldn’t it just be a decorative ornament I could hang around my house?  It doesn’t have to go on a tree does it?”

“No I suppose it doesn’t.”

“Well I really just think it is so sad that our world has come to this.  Don’t you?  What if my children and I want to take the class and we don’t believe in Christmas, huh? ”

At this point I was fairly confident that she would NOT be signing up any of her family members for this class.

“Well, to be honest, it’s not really a class for kids.”

“What do you mean it’s not for kids?”

Oh boy.  I sighed. “The techniques taught in that particular class aren’t geared toward kids.”

“Well what age are we talking about here?  Define yourself!” she demanded.

I obliged with a cordial response.  “Ok- I suppose I wouldn’t sign up a person that was under the age of….fourteen? It really just depends on the skill level of the individual.  I can check with the teacher about that. ”

“Well it’s clear we have very different definitions of  a ‘child.’ A fourteen-year old is still a child in MY eyes!”

At that point, the other phone line started ringing.  I told her I didn’t appreciate her calling and harassing me and that I would no longer put up with it and hung up.

*                                 *                            *                                   *                                       *

Diary, don’t you think it’s so sad when you simply try to offer a creative outlet to members of your community and someone like that has to rain on your parade?

Leave a Reply

