Trail Mix Cookies, Etc.

Perhaps some of you, who have followed my blog on any kind of “regular” basis, have asked yourselves, ” What is the deal?  Road trips, cookies,  stories about shopping and working in retail, sewing, crafting, gardening, home decorating, pets…What kind of blog is this, anyway?”  For some of you, this question will not occur because you know me well.  You know I like to do 12 things at once and always have multiple projects going.  But to those of you who don’t know me like my close family and friends, this blog is me.  I get bored very easily with one subject, and that is obviously reflected here.

Having said that, I hope you find kineticheart’s meandering byways more endearing than annoying.  I hope you will check in with me in the coming weeks, because I plan on sharing things like (but not limited to):  our newly repainted living room; Matt’s newest album release; more vegetarian recipes; Fall blouse construction; photos of Bishop’s Castle; updates on our Thailand trip…

As for today, as promised, I am sharing another cookie recipe.  There are exactly three sweet treats that I have made more than once.  The walnut-date cookies I posted earlier; vegan chocolate truffles (perhaps to come in the future) and these cookies.  That’s it.  That’s all I do in the way of “baking”.  So here it goes…

This recipe was passed on to me by my very talented and artistic sister, who is also a whiz in the kitchen.  When I recently asked her where it came from, she said she found it on-line years ago, and she has adapted it quite a bit from the original.  After being in MY cooking notebook for years, I too have adapted it from her version.  So it’s anyone’s guess how close it is to the original at this point.

I call these my Trail Mix Cookies because they are a favorite road trip and camping trip snack!

***These are vegan and gluten-free too!

ingredients

Does it seem oxymoronic to show a healthy dose of flax meal in a shot glass???

These measurements can be manipulated.  The important thing is to have a very gooey consistency for the batter.

3 LARGE ripe bananas

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup virgin coconut oil/butter

2 cups rolled oats (instant may work but I’ve never tried; if you’re GF then make sure your oats say so)

1/3 cup flax meal

2/3 cup nut meal (whatever you have, throw in the food processor)

**NOTE:  these last 2 ingredients can be shifted around however you like.  You can use a total of 1 cup almond meal and omit flax altogether; or one cup of a variety of mixed nuts–your call.

1/3 cup dried and shredded coconut

1/3 cup any nut you like, chopped

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp sea salt

3/4 cup dried cranberries, raisins, dried cherries or any dried fruit you like

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup nut butter (almond or peanut are my faves, although tahini or cashew would probably work well too)

optional:  chocolate chips or carob chips–as much as you like ( I use around 1 cup)

For what it’s worth, my favorite combo is almonds and walnuts with dark choc chips and dried tart cherries sprinkled with chunky celtic sea salt.

1.  Mash the bananas with a fork or potato masher and set aside.

bananas

2.  Soften the nut butter and coconut oil over low heat in a saucepan.  We want it melted enough so it will mix easily with the bananas.

nut butter and oil

3.  Combine all the wet ingredients in the banana bowl (vanilla, oil and nut butter), and all the dry ingredients in another bowl (oats, flax, nut meal, coconut, nuts, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, fruit).

4.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ones and stir.  Fold in chocolate/carob chips.

complete batter

5. Drop dollops of dough, roughly spoon size (see below) onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet.

cookie size

See how gooey it is?

6.  Bake them for about 12-14 minutes, until they get just a kiss of brown on top.

Bake

Let them rest after you pull them from the oven for just a few minutes.

Ta-Da!

cookies

What’s YOUR favorite ingredient combo?

2 thoughts on “Trail Mix Cookies, Etc.

Leave a Reply

