Happy Cozy Yarn Days

It happens every year.  There’s a warning on the news that the temps are expected to dip below freezing.  I go into panic mode: “It’s going to be soooo cold!  All I want to do is cuddle up near a fire, watch the snowflakes swirl across my window… and crochet.”  I quickly flee to my local yarn dispensary and gather up supplies for the impending cold.

It also happens that every year I decide to crochet a scarf. They are easy (hello!  It’s a rectangle!), inexpensive, and completely portable for road trips, coffeehouses etc.

I am always on the look-out for non-wool yarns, as I am extremely sensitive to it.  (This makes me devastatingly sad because I LOVE everything wool, but I absolutely will scratch my skin bloody if it touches me!)  A few years ago I stumbled upon an organic cotton yarn by Lion Brand Yarns.  The hand is lovely, its organic and the colors are earthy:

organic cotton yarnI started a striped scarf 2 years ago…I am still working on it.

Last year I was inspired by the color purple.  I had next to nothing among the violet range in my wardrobe, and thought certainly it would be a great complimentary color to have on hand:

Hometown USA yarn Lion BrandHometown USA by Lion Brand Yarn.  It’s still waiting to be finished…

Guess what happened last week?  Yup.  You guessed it.  I was looking for something entirely different at Jo-Ann’s and everywhere I turned there was yarn!  And then of course the weather here has been absolutely frigid…

photo

So this weird hank spoke to me from the bottom row of a yarn bin:

Dash yarn by red Heart

Yeah, it looks like it is already crocheted. It’s a variegated chain of thick cable…Of course I would  find the one yarn in the whole store where all of the skeins were without their paper labels!  After enlisting 2 store employees to hunt down the price, we found one lone label stashed in a random bucket nearby.  Here’s a link to the cowl pattern (featured on the label) here:  http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/hand-crochet-cowl-0

redhartdashyarn

While I thought I would just use one of my ginormous crochet hooks to do something cool, I think I will try the “arm crocheting” technique they are talking about first.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.  Of course, it could be a few years…

If you’ve tried making anything with this yarn or have any tips for working with large yarn like this, I would LOVE any input.  Happy cozy yarn days!

2 thoughts on “Happy Cozy Yarn Days

Leave a Reply

