Easy Paint Chip Bookmarks

My goal has been to share at least 2 posts per week up until the 22nd of December (we leave for a trip back home to California that day).  I told myself that the posts should be craft-oriented since many people will be making Christmas gifts this time of year.  And if there are any crafters out there like me, they wait until the very last minute!

So today I am sharing an easy craft.  I know a lot of people are all about their kindles and whatnot, but there is still something to be said for holding a physical book and leafing through its paper pages.  Reading a book is a sensory activity-feeling the paper and smelling the pages.

Bookmarks have always been a big part of my life, because I have always loved reading.  Everyone in my family is a reader and books are the #1 items we all give to each other.

This past mother’s Day I sent my mom a few books, and I thought maybe she could use a bookmark update to accompany the gift:

bookmarks

I have a huge stash of paint chips in the craft room, so I pulled them out for this project.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Card stock in any color
  • Paint chips in any color combo you like
  • Sewing machine (or glue will work)
  • Large eyelet Kit with 1/4 ” eyelets
  • Yarn, twine, cord, etc. for tassel top
  • Gluestick
  • Holepunch

1)  Cut the card stock to the desired shape and size of your bookmark.

2)  Cut paint chips into any shape and size to fit on the card stock.

3)  Use a tiny bit of glue on the back of your paint chips to hold them in place.

4)  Using your sewing machine (or skip this part and just use more glue if you don’t want to sew), stitch the paint chip pieces onto the card stock using a straight stitch.  Or, if you want to get crazy, now is a great time to try out those decorative stitches!

5)  Using your holepunch, punch the top of your book mark.

bookmark 2

6)  Follow package directions ( I used Dritz brand Large eyelet kit from the fabric store// item #  659-65// 1/4″) and secure eyelet through the hole you punched.

7)  Cut and loop several strands of yarn through the eyelet.

bookmark 3

bookmark 4

All done.  That was pretty easy right?  Now you have a personal touch for your gifts.

The possibilities are endless here.  You could use scrapbooking paper or newsprint or wrapping paper or magazine cutouts instead of the paint chips.  Anything you can sew through is game.  Have at it and have fun!

What are you crafting up for the holidays right now?

Leave a Reply

