Snow Day Cookies

Back-and-forth, back-and-forth, the snowflakes meander through the sky like little paper airplanes caught in the jet stream of a moth.  I watch it all happen from the other side of the glass.  Our spruce trees reach out just far enough to catch them mid-flight; cradle them and collect them into miniature white nests.  I turn the heater up.  I find the recipe.  I turn on the oven.

snow_day_cookies

There’s a lot of talk these days about PALEO, vegan, non-diary, gluten-free, soy-free.  It can be daunting when you’ve been diagnosed with a food allergy and are searching for recipes.  It’s overwhelming to figure out the best food choices for you and your family.  There are SO MANY “dos” and “don’ts” these days!  Don’t give up.   The beauty of being individually created by God is that we’re all uniquely and wonderfully made.  No one food/diet/supplement is going to be the “right” one for the entire population.  Certain foods will fuel me and not you.  Do I believe eating lots of veggies is good for you?  Absolutely!  I have prefered a vegetarian diet for the last 18 years and it works for me.  But it might not work for you.  Figure out what makes your body run at top performance and trust that!

A friend’s recent visit was a testimony to this.  She has been through the ringer health-wise and has come out on the other side of it victorious.  Not because of doctors or friends with advice on diet and medication.  She did the work.  Research + trial and error.  She is gluten and dairy-free now, making her own water Keifer for probiotics and is well on her way to a new, healthy glow.  She brought the most delicious cookies to a gathering where every adult and child gobbled them up.  Not one morsel was left upon the platter.  I personally can eat dairy and grains, but this is the best chocolate chip cookie recipe ever!

For those of you who are practicing Paleos, dairy-free, grain-free, vegetarian, vegan–this one’s for you.  If you don’t fall under any of these categories, that’s ok too.  You can still make them 🙂

paleo_ingredients

I love and hate recipes like this.  I LOVE them because they are tasty, but I hate them because the ingredients are pricey.  I have a lot of people say to me, “I just can’t afford to eat healthy.”  You can do it- it just takes planning and dedication.  Here is how I usually handle these situations:  I buy 1 pricey ingredient each week when I go grocery shopping.  Then after 2 or 3 weeks, I have what I need. I can fit a 7$ jar of coconut oil into my weekly budget.  It’s a lot harder to fit 50$ worth of ingredients in.  That’s half my budget!  What’s glorious about buying an item each week is that it stocks your pantry.  I rarely bake, so the coconut flour and almond flour will last me a long time.  The oil and maple syrup will be thrown right into the staples of my everyday cooking.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. If you have parchment paper, cover your cookie sheet with it ( I love using it because it makes things bake evenly and nothing sticks to it).
  2. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Combine the dry ingredients and mix well.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix.
  5. Add chocolate chips.

almond meal_flour

I have used both almond meal and almond flour in this recipe.  The almond meal is cheaper, but makes the cookie a little more dry–still delicious though.  For dairy free, find chocolate chips that say so.  We love  Enjoy Life dark chocolate morsels.

6.  Shape cookies into small balls and mash down slightly.  Bake for 10 minutes

baked_cookies

Although I do not know the source for the original recipe, I do have this link where the blogger made a simple printable version of the recipe:  http://lovelifeliveon.wordpress.com/2013/05/12/paleo-chocolate-chip-cookie-recipe-printable/
(I personally added sea salt to the recipe and used a little less maple…)

Cookie_Collage

I am always looking for new things to do when the snow falls.  What do you like to do?

5 thoughts on “Snow Day Cookies

  1. MMMmmm, gonna have to make these. Since I am gluten intolerant and quite possibly have celiac disease, I don’t really have a choice but to eat a certain way, so like it or not, I HAVE to buy expensive foods. And I hate it , too. but it’s much better to be able to eat and not be in pain and misery!! 😉 I am in love with this recipe!! Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

