Travel File: Japanese Streets

As I mentioned in my earlier post, this week is dedicated to Japan.  One thing I became obsessed with while visiting Tokyo were the signs.  Mainly, I saw funny ones in parks and along busy streets, like this one:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Matt & I had a lot of fun trying to guess what they meant.  My translation for this one was: “Don’t leave feces and trash lying around!  It can be harmful to your pets!”

It seems like pets are a common theme…

Japanese_Signage_2

Japanese_Signage_1

I like how most of the street sign have people wearing hats!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Japanese_Signage_3

crosswalk_Japan

Not only can you find a place to get your hair cut in Japan, but you’ll also feel right at home with a 7-11!

Japanese_Signage_4

Although it’s not a sign, I couldn’t help but be enamored with the Japanese attention to detail.  I first learned about their manhole covers from a Japanese quilting book a friend gave to me years before I went to Tokyo, entitled “Circles of the East” by Kumiko Sudo.

cirles_of_the_east

This artist’s take on Japanese manhole covers are extraordinary.  Look at her gallery of quilts here.

And here’s what I happened to walk across one afternoon:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love that something as simple as a sign or manhole cover can foster inspiration.  Sometimes all it takes is seeing something with new eyes.

Take a look around you.  What have YOU been overlooking?

For more information and history behind the artistic manhole covers, check out this article in The Japan Times.  Very informative!

One thought on “Travel File: Japanese Streets

Leave a Reply

