Chipotle Sweet Potato Chili

Once again, the white dust of Winter spirals in miniature snow devils past our living room window.  Two days ago the sun spoke loud and clear with near record-breaking high temperatures for this time of year.  People spoke of margaritas on the porch and walks in the park.  Today, we snuggle close as the teapot remains warm atop the wood stove.  I decide to throw chili in the crock pot, and then realize I never posted the recipe I promised the LAST time it snowed.

Chipotle Sweet Potato Chili

We never ate sweet potatoes until we moved to Texas.  They’ve grown on us.  Don’t get me wrong- given the choice between a regular spud and a sweet one, I’d choose white every time.  But the sweet is a nice juxtaposition sometimes against a salty, spicy chili.  (And I just discovered they are FANTASTIC raw, too!).  This was the first chili I ever tried with sweet potatoes…We like it so much that I make it often during the Winter.  The other cool ingredient featured here is chipotle peppers.  Chipotles are dried and smoked jalapeños.   You can find them canned in any grocery store near the beans and salsa.  I buy a small can, use what I need, then freeze the remainder for the next time.   I usually stretch one can over 3 or 4 recipes.

This recipe is SO EASY.  SERIOUSLY.  It’s a crock pot recipe, people.  Throw it in your slow cooker next time you’re craving something salty, sweet and satisfying on a cold day.

This recipe is adapted from one in the book entitled, “Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker.”

Ingredients:

  • 1 TBS oil for Sautéing
  • 1 Medium-sized onion (any color), chopped
  • 1 Bell Pepper (red, yellow or orange), chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 TBS chili powder, or more to taste
  • 2 Medium sized Sweet potatoes or garnet yams, chopped in chunks
  • 14.5 oz can crushed or diced tomatoes
  • 14.5 oz can of beans, drained and rinsed ( I chose black, but pinto, red, adzuki or kidney would work too)
  • 2.5 Cups veggie stock or water
  • Salt
  • 1 TBS canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, chopped (or more to taste)
  • Cilantro (optional)

chipotle black bean chili

4.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  Just before serving, stir in the chipotles.  Garnish each bowl with a bit of cilantro.

chipotle sweet potato chili 2

Do YOU have a favorite sweet potato recipe?

One thought on “Chipotle Sweet Potato Chili

  1. Your photography is superb. Usually, for me, sweet potato, I can take or leave. I eat it if it’s set before me, but after viewing this post, sweet potato is very sumptuous and appealing. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

