Travel File: Spicing It Up in Austin, TX

I couldn’t help but notice that our recent trip to Austin had a color theme.

Austin TX Buffalo ExchangeEverything from the exterior paint at Buffalo Exchange (one of my favorite chain resale clothing stores) to the clothes I bought there, to the record Matt bought @ Antone’s Record Shop, to the fabric I purchased, to the business card of Stitch Lab had an overall… “spicy” feel. It felt very “New Delhi.” (Or what I imagine New Delhi to feel like!)

I’ve been drooling over this cute little fabric shop for years on-line.  I never actually thought I’d get to visit it!  It’s a super cute space in an old house.

Stitch Lab Austin TX ExteriorThey have seating on the porch in case other members of your party get tired of waiting (there’s also a Mexican restaurant within walking distance in case you’re friends want to have Bloody Marys while they wait for you…)  I didn’t take any photos of the interior, which was super cute!  But you can visit Stitch Lab’s website here and see/read all kinds of fantastic things!

As for my pocketbook, well, it was restrained from over-spending (my large “stash” from home whispering to me that I didn’t NEED any more fabric!)  What I did manage to walk away with were some of these goodies:

Stitch lab Austin TX 2Seems as though they had some fabric totes left over from a recent shop hop, so I got lots of free goodies with my purchase!  I love the temporary tattoo I got with a seam ripper illustration and their logo “no regrets.” ( How classic is that?)  The lovely girl who helped me also gave me a map of all the local shops in the area for my next trip!

One of the fabrics I found looked like different nature scenes; many were of the beach. (upper left corner, below)

stitch lab Austin TXI was so inspired when I returned home, that I completed the top of my t-shirt quilt!  Check out where I inserted some of my brand new fabric into it:

quilt detailsI appliqued some flowers on one block.  But the thing I was really stoked about was how the nature-scene fabric worked with my Pattaya Slum Ministries T-shirt:

Pattaya Slum MinistriesI cut the t-shirt into 2 sections, then sliced the sections up to match the shape of the nature-scene fabric and appliqued them on.   The colors were perfect together too!

T shirt quiltWho knows when I’ll get this thing quilted, but at least the hardest part is out of the way.

I love visiting fabric stores in new cities.  For me, walking away with a fun souvenir to use in an upcoming (or existing) project is the perfect way to remember a trip.  I already have pieces from Fancy Tiger in Denver mixed into this quilt.  Now every time I look at it, I will see a piece of Austin too!

Leave a Reply

