New Soup Recipe

So, that last post about rain reminded me that I had made soup that weekend we had the downpour.  My favorite thing to do on a weekend like that is to stay in, have a fire and make soup!  I was feeling adventurous and made up my very own recipe, using flavor profiles I love and the cauliflower I had snatched up at Natural Grocers earlier in the week.

curry soupAlthough I searched my cookbooks for a recipe that used ingredients I already had in my kitchen, nothing seemed quite right to me.  I didn’t want to go to the store again, so I said, “Well Amber, you know what flavors you like, so just make something up!” 

I know some people are afraid of cauliflower.  They say they don’t like it.  But, I can honestly say that 9 times out of 10, when I roast cauliflower in the oven, skeptics are completely surprised by how much they like it!  It gets carmelized and toasted.  When I roast it for dinner,  it’s sheer luck if any of it makes it to our plates, because Matt and I can devour an entire head of roasted cauliflower in under 5 minutes!

This soup is really easy to make.  I make my own veggie stock (see instructions here) because it tastes SO MUCH better than store-bought.  But do what you can with the time you have. 🙂  You can roast the cauliflower the day before, which will speed up the cook time.  It’s almost all unattended time when making this recipe.

**This recipe is creamy due to coconut milk, so it’s vegan (if you don’t garnish with yogurt and don’t use butter when cooking), vegetarian and GF.**

Creamy Curried Cauliflower Soup

Serves 8-ish

What you’ll need:

  • 1 onion, white, yellow or red-diced
  • 2 TBS fresh ginger, grated
  • 3 cloves garlic, diced or pressed
  • 1 tsp Tumeric
  • 1 tsp ground corriander
  • 1 tsp ground cardomom
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 2 tsp brown mustard seeds
  • 6 cups veggie broth + 1 ½ cups veggie broth
  • 2 heads of cauliflower, roasted (instructions to follow)
  • 1  14-oz can of coconut milk
  • juice of 1 lime
  • olive oil
  • sea salt
  • plain yogurt + cilantro leaves for OPTIONAL garnish

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  2. Wash and chop cauliflower into bite-size pieces.  Toss in a bowl with olive oil and sea salt to coat.  Spread onto a cookie sheet (use parchment if you have it) in a single layer.  You may need 2 cookie sheets, depending on the size of your veg.
  3. Place in oven and roast for approximately 45 minutes to 1 hour, watching for it to turn a golden brown.  Half-way through the time you may want to mix/flip it.  Pull from oven and proceed with directions.
  4. In a large stockpot on the stove top, add a few teaspoons of oil (olive, butter, coconut or whatever you have) and heat.  Add garlic & spices and mix until they become fragrant and the mustard seeds start to “talk” or pop.  Add onion and saute on medium until they soften.  Add  1 ½ cups of veggie broth to deglaze. Stir, add the coconut milk and cauliflower.
  5. I forgot to take photos...This was the only one I took!

    I forgot to take photos…This was the only one I took!

  6. Add the remaining veggie broth and bring to a boil, then turn heat low and simmer for 10 minutes.  Add lime juice.
  7. Turn off heat.  If you have an immersion blender, stick it in the pot and blend until smooth.  If you are using your regular blender, let the soup cool and then blend, working in batches.  Salt to taste.
  8. I finished this soup with a sprinkle of chunky celtic sea salt, but I though it would be super yummy with a dollop of plain yogurt and a sprinkle of cilantro.  It’s your choice.
If you are well into hot weather, then save this for a cool, fall day.  If you are still being doused by rain, this may be the perfect way to brighten a dreary day!

One thought on “New Soup Recipe

  1. I really like the sound of this, looks great. I will give it a try and let you know how it turns out. Nice blog btw xxxx

Leave a Reply

