Travel File: Clouds & Churches

I’ll get back to my posts about our California road trip soon enough.  But for today, I am sharing a few photographs from our recent trip to Jemez Springs, New Mexico.  I’m a total sucker for churches when it comes to photography.  Especially catholic churches.  Here are a few gems I ran across while traveling through the mountains this week.

This first had an exceptional location; nestled against a mountain range in the middle of Jemez Springs:

Mary Mother Of Priests Jemez Springs 2Mary Mother Of Priests Jemez Springs mountains Mary Mother Of Priests Jemez SpringsThe architecture of this one is so very New Mexico.  The long, slender windows with their unusual white stained glass especially fascinated me.Mary Mother Of Priests Jemez Springs 3This next little church caught my eye right away as we passed it. I asked my husband to turn around and go back, which he obligingly did.  (He’s totally used to it by now)

I fell in love with the doors before our truck was even stopped.  I love me some turquoise! The clouds, the clouds, the clouds.  I know.  I’m always talking so dreamily about the New Mexican clouds.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again:  the clouds in New Mexico are not like clouds anywhere else. 

San Ysidro Catholic Church Jemez doors San Ysidro Catholic Church Jemez San Ysidro Catholic Church Jemez doors bwStay tuned for more New Mexico adventures.  (And Big Sur, Yosemite, Las Vegas…We were busy this summer!)

Some of my other posts about New Mexico that you may enjoy:

Taos

Cabresto Lake

Arroyo Seco

Enchanted Circle

One thought on “Travel File: Clouds & Churches

Leave a Reply

