Coffee Table Story (or, Easy DIY Coffee Table)

It was early morning.  Cozy on the couch, I was enjoying my green tea, looking through papers for our next Thailand meeting.  I set my mug on the floor- Sprockett immediately walked over and licked the rim.  “Really Sprockett?” I questioned, annoyed.  I thought about how it would be nice to have a table to put my mug on.  And then I considered how lovely it would be to have extra space to spread out my papers.  (While piling important papers on the couch is not ideal, I had become accustomed to it).  We have a rather small house (by American standards anyway), and our old coffee table had become more of a nuisance than a help because of its large size.  So it presently sits in the storage shed collecting dust and preserving memories of days gone by with its tattered corners and loose legs.

I asked myself, "If I could MAKE a coffee table, how would it look?"

This was the beginning of our coffee table story.

 

DIY_coffee_table

I immediately searched Pinterest.  There were a million ideas floating around.  The only thing I knew for certain was that I didn’t want to spend money on supplies. I told my husband the plan.  “Yeah, a coffee table would be nice,” he agreed.  I showed him photos online.  We walked outside to take a look at the possibilities.  The great thing about buying a house on a an acre of land?  The previous owners left enough “junk” that it became a treasure trove for us, but not so much that it was annoying.  We found some wood and made a game plan.

We chose scrap wood.  I excitedly dug the old chairs out of storage.  I had picked them up next to a school dumpster the summer before, hoping they would make nice bases for side tables.

supplies_table

We pulled out all the 1 X 4’s.  We arranged them into a striped pattern.  We decided on a size.  Matt got to work.

step_1_coffeetable

He cut all the wood the same length.  We decided to have them a bit bigger than the base piece.

He attached the strips to our base.

step_2_coffeetable

step_3_coffeetable

He drilled from beneath so the screws wouldn’t show on top.  He did this at an angle just to make sure!

step_4_coffeetable

Then he flipped it and screwed another row near the seam where our 2 base pieces joined.  (2 pieces were used for no other reason than that is what we had on-hand).

Notice what the wood looks like above.  I liked it because it was old and worn looking.  Some of it still had chipping paint.  We agreed he should sand it a bitI forgot what a perfectionist he can be.  I was quite surprised by the outcome… It looks very different!  But, I have to say, I think the wood is really lovely and with a few clear coats of stain, it fits very well in our house!

table_2

He attached the legs after the staining was done. 

View from beneath: (He still wants to put an edging all the way around to help hide the base.)

coffeetable_underneath

Crazy how nice some old scrap wood can look once it’s sanded and stained, huh?

coffeetable_top_view

table_1

What DIY projects have YOU been up to?

2 thoughts on “Coffee Table Story (or, Easy DIY Coffee Table)

Leave a comment